Privacy Policy Site Map Contact Us Home
HomeAbout RAMNational PartnersConnect with OthersResourcesQuality Improvement OrganizationsPress RoomUnderwritersFAQs

Subscribe to Remaking American Medicine's FREE newsletter.

Quick Login

For National Partners and Quality Improvement Organizations (QIOs) access a special section of created just for you. To obtain a User ID and Password click here.



Series Advisory Panel


An independent advisory panel of experts has been assembled to provide advice and consultation to Crosskeys Media for the series. The group is comprised of distinguished scholars, quality improvement leaders and individuals with years of experience in the health care system. The panel is playing a key role in reviewing and commenting upon the editorial content of the series.

Dr. Paul Batalden is Professor of Pediatrics and Community Medicine at Dartmouth Medical School and is Director of Health Care Improvement Leadership Development at the Center for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences.

Dr. Donald Berwick is President and CEO of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI). Dr. Berwick is Clinical Professor of Pediatrics and Health Care Policy at Harvard Medical School. He is Chair of the National Advisory Council of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, as well as an elected member of the Institute of Medicine.

Dr. Tina Castañares is a practicing family physician, health care administrator and private consultant with a special interest in the uninsured and underserved. A staff physician at Providence Hood River Memorial Hospital and Medical Director of La Clinica del Cariño Family Health Care Center in Hood River, Oregon, she was one of the original eleven members of the Oregon Health Services Commission.

Dr. Carolyn M. Clancy serves as Director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). Dr. Clancy is a general internist and health services researcher, and a graduate of Boston College and the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

Dr. Janet Corrigan is the President and CEO of the National Quality Forum, which announced in February 2006 its merger with the National Committee for Quality Health Care. Dr. Corrigan was the former Director of the Board on Health Care Services at the Institute of Medicine (IOM), which is responsible for projects relating to health care quality, safety, insurance and benefits coverage, organization, delivery and financing.

Dr. Charles Francis is President of the Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science, a private academic institution located in South Central Los Angeles. Prior to his present position, he served as Professor of Clinical Medicine, College of Physicians and Surgeons at Columbia University, and Chairman of the Department of Medicine at the Harlem Hospital Center.

Dr. Howard Hiatt is Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Senior Physician at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital. During the course of his long and distinguished career, he was the first Hermann L. Blumgart Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Physician-in-Chief at Beth Israel Hospital. He also served as Dean of the Harvard School of Public Health from 1972 to 1984.

Dr. Brent James is Vice President, Medical Research and Continuing Medical Education at Intermountain Health Care (IHC). He is also Executive Director of the IHC Institute for Health Care Delivery Research, which trains community physician leaders, clinical team members and administrators to conduct state-of-the-art practice improvement projects utilizing quality improvement methods to manage and integrate clinical processes.

Dr. David Lansky is the Senior Director, Health Program and Executive Director, Personal Health Technology Initiative for the Markle Foundation. Prior to this position, Dr. Lansky served as the Foundation for Accountability (FACCT) president from its inception in 1995. For more than twenty years, Lansky has been a proponent of a more responsive and accountable health care system.

Dr. David Leach is Executive Director of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). The mission of ACGME is to improve the quality of health care in the United States by ensuring and improving the quality of graduate education experiences for physicians in training. Dr. Leach previously served as director of medical education at the Henry Ford Health System in Detroit, Michigan.

Dr. Kate Lorig is the Director of the Stanford Patient Education Research Center. Dr. Lorig is a Professor of Medicine in the Stanford School of Medicine. She earned her bachelors degree in nursing at Boston University, and her masters and doctorate of public health in health education at the University of California, Berkeley.

Dr. Joseph Newhouse is the John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy and Management at Harvard University, Director of the Division of Health Policy Research Education, Chair of the Committee on Higher Degrees in Health Policy, and Director of the Interfaculty Initiative in Health Policy. He is a member of the faculties of the John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard Medical School, the Harvard School of Public Health, and the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, as well as a Faculty Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Dr. Shelia Ryan is Professor and the Charlotte Peck Lienemann and Distinguished Alumni Chair and Director of International Programs in nursing at the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Nursing in Omaha, Nebraska. Dr. Ryan serves on the governing board of AIHA, the American International Health Alliance, Inc. and recently completed board service for IHI, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, and the Robert Wood Johnson/Institute of Medicine Health Policy Fellow Selection Committee.

Mr. Pete Velez is a senior executive with demonstrated achievement in health care management, and has been a longstanding proponent of quality health care for all New Yorkers. He has had a 27-year career with the New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation (HHC). During that time he has kept pace with the changes in the health care industry, and assisted the organization in positioning itself to be competitive with other providers.

Dr. Ed Wagner is a general internist/epidemiologist and Director of the W.A. MacColl Institute for Healthcare Innovation at the Center for Health Studies, Group Health Cooperative of Puget Sound. He is also Professor of Health Services at the University of Washington School of Public Health and Community Medicine.




>> back to top